Sunday, October 23, 2016

Research: World Series Last Play (with trivia)

World Series Final plays, last 25 years (since 1991)
7 (2 looking)
Fly out
7 (includes 2 foul outs; 3x CF, 2x 3B, 2x LF)
Ground out
6 (includes 1 bunt; 2x 1-3, 4-3, 6-3, 1u, 5-3)
Base hit
4 (3 singles, 1 HR)

Since 1969, Mariano Rivera has been on the mound the most for the last play: 5
The only other pitcher since 1969 to be on the mound for the final play is Will McEnaney (Cin, 1975-76)
The only hitter since 1969 to be at-bat for the final play is Edgar Reternria (1997 Fla, 2004 StL)
Since 1969, seven complete games have been thrown (by winning side). Last: Josh Beckett (2003, Fla)

World Series Final Play
Year       Win-Lose   Gm          Score                         Final Play
(home in italics)
2015       KC-NYM        5             7-2 (12th)                P Wade Davis; Wilmer Flores strikeout looking
2014       SF-KC             7             3-2                              P Madison Bumgarner; Salvador Perez foul fly out to 3B Pablo Sandoval
2013       Bos-StL          6             6-1                              P Koji Uehara; Matt Carpenter strikeout swinging
2012       SF-Det            4             4-3 (10th)                P Sergio Romo; Miguel Cabrera strikeout looking
2011       StL-Tex          7             6-2                              P Jason Motte; David Murphy flies out to LF Allen Craig
2010       SF-Tex            5             3-1                              P Brian Wilson; Nelson Cruz strikeout swinging
2009       NYY-Phi         6             7-3                              P Mariano Rivera; Shane Victorino grounds out 2B Robinson Cano to 1B Mark Teixeira
2008       Phi-TB            6             4-3                              P Brad Lidge; PH Eric Hinske (for SS Jason Bartlett) strikeout swinging
2007       Bos-Col          4             4-3                              P Jonathan Papelbon; PH Seth Smith strikeout swinging
2006       StL-Det          5             4-2                              P Adam Wainwright; Brandon Inge strikeout swinging
2005       CWS-Hou      4             1-0                              P Bobby Jenks; PH Orlando Palmeiro ground out SS Juan Uribe to 1B Paul Konerko
2004       Bos-StL          4             3-0                              P Keith Foulke; Edgar Renteria grounds out P Foulke to 1B Doug Mientkiewicz
2003       Fla-NYY          6             2-0                              P Josh Beckett (CG); Jorge Posada ground out P Beckett unassisted            
2002       Ana-SF          7             4-1                              P Troy Percival; Kenny Lofton fly out to CF Darren Erstad
2001       Ari-NYY          7             3-2                              P Mariano Rivera; Luis Gonzalez bases-loaded single to score Jay Bell from third [1 out]
2000       NYY-NYM     5             4-2                              P Mariano Rivera; Mike Piazza fly out to CF Bernie Williams             
1999       NYY-Atl          4             4-1                              P Mariano Rivera; Keith Lockhart fly out to LF Chad Curtis 
1998       NYY-SD          4             3-0                              P Mariano Rivera; PH Mark Sweeney (for SS Chris Gomez) groundout 3B Scott Brosius to 1B TIno Martinez
1997       Fla-Cle           7             3-2 (11th)                P Jose Mesa; Edgar Renteria bases-loaded single to score Craig Counsell form third [2 outs]
1996       NYY-Atl          6             3-2                              P John Wetteland; Mark Lemke foul fly out to 3B Charlie Hayes     
1995       Atl-Cle           6             1-0                              P Mark Wohlers; Carlos Baerga fly out to CF Marquis Grissom
1993       Tor-Phi          6             8-6                              P Mitch Williams; Joe Carter three-run homer (Ricky Henderson scores from second; Paul Molitor from first) [one out]
1992       Tor-Atl           6             4-3 (11th)                P Mike Timlin; Otis Nixon bunt groundout P Timlin to 1B Joe Carter
1991       Min-Atl          7             1-0 (10th)                P Alejandro Pena; PH Gene Larkin (for DH Jarvis Brown) bases loaded single to score Dan Gladden from third [one out]
1990       Cin-Oak         4             2-1                              P Randy Myers; Carney Lansford foul fly out to 1B Todd Benzinger
1989       Oak-SF           4             9-6                              P Dennis Eckersly; Brett Butler ground out 2B Tony Phillips to Eckersly at first
1988       LAD-Oak       5             5-2                              P Orel Hershiser (CG); Tony Phillips strikeout swinging
1987       Min-StL         7             4-2                              P Jeff Reardon; Willie McGee ground out 3B Gary Gaetti to 1B Kent Hrbek
1986       NYM-Bos      7             8-5                              P Jesse Orosco; Marty Barrett strikeout swinging
1985       KC-StL            7             11-0                           P Brett Saberhagen; Andy Van Slyke fly out to RF Daryl Motley
1984       Det-SD           5             8-4                              P Willie Hernandez; Tony Gwynn fly out to LF Larry Herndon
1983       Bal-Phi           5             5-0                              P Scott McGreggor (CG); Garry Maddox lines out to SS Cal Ripken
1982       StL-Mil           7             6-3                              P Bruce Sutter; Gorman Thomas strikeout swinging
1981       LAD-NYY       6             9-2                              P Steve Howe; Bob Watson fly out to CF Ken Landreaux
1980       Phi-KC            6             4-1                              P Tug McGraw; Willie Wilson strikeout swinging
1979       Pit-Bal            7             4-1                              P Kent Tekulve; PH Pat Kelly (for C Rick Dempsey) fly out to CF Omar Moreno
1978       NYY-LAD       6             7-2                              P Goose Gossage; Ron Cey foul fly out to C Thurman Munson
1977       NYY-LAD       6             8-4                              P Mike Torrez (CG); PH Lee Lacy (for P Charlie Hough) bunt fly out to Torrez
1976       Cin-NYY         4             7-2                              P Will McEnaney; Roy White fly out to LF George Foster
1975       Cin-Bos          7             4-3                              P Will McEnaney; Carl Yastrzemski fly out to CF Cesar Geronimo
1974       Oak-LAD       5             3-2                              P Rollie Fingers; PH Von Joshua (for C Steve Yeager)ground out P Rollie Fingers to 1B Gene Tenace
1973       Oak-NYM     7             3-2                              P Darold Knowleds; Wayne Garrett fly out to SS Bert Campaneris
1972       Oak-Cin         7             3-2                              P Rollie Fingers; Pete Rose fly out to LF Joe Rudi
1971       Pit-Bal            7             2-1                              P Steve Blass(CG); Merv Rettenmund ground out SS Jackie Hernandez to 1B Bob Robertson
1970       Bal-Cin           5             9-3                              P Mike Cuellar (CG); PH Pat Corrales (for LF Hal McRae) ground out 3B Brooks Robinson to 1B Boog Powell
1969       NYM-Bal       5             5-3                              P Jerry Koosman (CG); Dave Johnson fly out to LF Cleon Jones

1948       Cle-Bos          6             4-3                              P Gene Bearden; Tommy Holmes fly out to LF Bob Kennedy

1945       Det-ChC        7             9-3                              P Hal Newhouser (CG); Don Johnson grounds into fielder’s choice, SS Skeeter Webb to 2B Eddie Mayo to force Roy Hughes

1908       ChC-Det        5             2-0                              P Orval Overall (CG); Boss Schmidt ground out C Johnny King to 1B Frank Chance


No comments:

Post a Comment